What was the religion of Noah?

Man has always had a religion taught by God. But this religion falls into four great divisions:— 1.—The religion of Adam, who was instructed immediately by God. This was the first stage, and is known as the religion of innocent man. 2.—After Adam’s fall, Adam handed on to his children the truth about God, and the duty of worshipping Him. Thus Abel offered sacrifice. The traditions were transmitted by Adam’s posterity, but memories faded. Still, conscience always dictated what was naturally right, and this period could be called the period of natural law. However, God gave occasional revelations to various individuals, such as the Patriarchs, over and above the natural law, and this stage is often called the period of the Patriarchal religion, or the period of pre-Mosaic unwritten law. 3.—The third stage came with Moses. After the re-multiplication of the human race from Noah, men again began to forget God, and God gave to Moses a clearer exposition of religious duties to be put into writing. This is known as the stage of the written law, or that of the Mosaic religion. 4.—Finally God sent His own Son to give the more perfect law—the Christian law—which the Catholic Church teaches today in its fullness, and will teach till the end of time. Noah belonged to the second of these four stages, that of the Patriarchal unwritten law.

Radio Replies Volume 1 by Rev. Dr. Leslie Rumble MSC and Rev. Charles Mortimer Carty

🙏 PayPal Donation Appreciated

Select a Donation Option (USD)

Enter Donation Amount (USD)

Boost your faith with the help of the Catholic book we suggest below. It is a helpful resource that answers a lot of questions and can be shared with family and friends. #CommissionsEarned

The Case for Catholicism - Answers to Classic and Contemporary Protestant Objections

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Thank you.
Scroll to Top